Repertoire Search

Philip Glass

Publisher: Chester Music

The Canyon (1988)
commissioned by the Voorheen ADM Oudegracht, The Netherlands
Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
18 Minutes
Programme Note
Philip Glass The Canyon (1988)
'The Canyon' is the second piece of a series of symphonically conceived "portraits of nature" (preceded by 'The Light' and followed by 'Itaipu'). The composition does not refer to a particular canyon; it is based on an idealized canyon of the imagination.

© Philip Glass

Preview the score:

  • Ensemble
    Atlanta Symphony Orchestra / Atlanta Symphony Chorus
    Robert Shaw
    Sony Masterworks:
  • 27 AUG 2015
    Central Hall, Westminster, London
    Junge Deutsche Philharmonie
    Jonathan Stockhammer, conductor
  • 20 NOV 2014
    Brussels, Belgium
    Orcehstre Philharmonique Royal de Liege
    P. Davin , conductor

    Other Dates:
    21 November - Liege, Belguim
  • 26 MAR 2011
    Chicago, IL
    Chicago Youth Symphony Orchesta
    Allen Tinkham, conductor
  • 06 NOV 2005
    Kortrijk, Belgium
    European Union Symhony Orchestra
    Geert Soenen, conductor
  • 04 FEB 2004
    Finlandia Hall, Helsinki, Finland
    Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra
    John Storgårds, conductor
  • 10 AUG 2001
    Musicale Orchestra

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.