Repertoire Search

Jay Greenberg

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Quintet for Brass (2012), 25
Work Notes
Available for performances after July 2017.
G. Schirmer/Lost Penny Publications
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Unavailable Explain this...
Programme Note
Jay Greenberg Quintet for Brass (2012), 25
Composer note:
The Quintet for Brass was completed on 29 February 2012 for the American Brass Quintet with support from the Jerome Fund commission. It is approximately 14 minutes in duration. The American Brass Quintet gave the premiere performance at the Aspen Music Festival on 18 July 2012.

Much performer/composer interaction led the work to its ultimate form. As so often happens when I attempt to "revise" a piece, the final version ended up being an entirely new piece unrelated to its earlier drafts. The members of the American Brass Quintet provided invaluable feedback and technical assistance, for which I am quite grateful.

Time is inconstant during the Quintet. One, two, or — at times — all five players step away from the underlying pulse: in time and out of time through several episodes.

— Jay Greenberg

Listen to an excerpt on

  • 16 APR 2015
    Pro Musica
    Joplin, MO
    American Brass Quintet
  • 31 MAY 2014
    Musica Viva
    Sydney, Australia
    American Brass Quintet
  • 24 MAY 2014
    Musica Viva
    Melbourne, Australia
    American Brass Quintet
  • 22 MAY 2014
    Musica Viva
    Perth, Australia
    American Brass Quintet
  • 17 MAY 2014
    Quintet for Brass Country Premiere
    Musica Viva
    Brisbane, Australia
    American Brass Quintet
  • 22 OCT 2012
    Quintet for Brass New York Premiere
    Julliard School, New York, NY
    American Brass Quintet
  • 18 JUL 2012
    Quintet for Brass World Premiere
    Aspen Music Festival
    Aspen, CO
    American Brass Quintet

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.