Repertoire Search

Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky

Publisher: AMP

Boris Godunov (Rimsky-Korsakov version) (1874)
Work Notes
available in the USA, Canada and Mexico only
Text Writer
the composer
Schirmer Russian Music
Opera and Music Theatre
Year Composed
SATB chorus
2 Baritones, 6 Basses, 3 Mezzo Sopranos, 2 Sopranos, 7 Tenors
Programme Note
Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky Boris Godunov (Rimsky-Korsakov version) (1874)
The opera is set in Russia and Poland between 1598 and 1605. Boris Godunov becomes Czar of Russia after he has murdered the young Dmitri, who is the rightful heir to the throne. The novice Grigory resolves to avenge the murder and, driven to insanity by his guilt, Boris falls dead at the end.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.