Repertoire Search

Nico Muhly

Publisher: Chester Music

Stabat Mater Dolorosa (2010)
Commissioned by the Kaufman Center with funds from the National Endowment for the Arts for performance at Merkin Hall.
St. Rose Music Publishing
Solo Voices and 1-6 players
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Soprano, Baritone
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Nico Muhly Stabat Mater Dolorosa (2010)
My Stabat Mater is a very simply-constructed piece of music. I knew I wanted to write a duet, a piece of religious music, and something to go along with a bit of Birtwistle. My initial instinct was to base the piece on drones, as Birtwistle’s music has so very many notes, but then I decided that an austere but ecstatic approach was the best to fill a coherent evening. I asked my friend Craig Lucas to paraphrase the Stabat Mater text—which describes the Virgin Mary weeping at the foot of the cross on which her son is crucified. The piece is organized by separating each phrase of the text with a moment of silence, with the exception of the last three, which are joined with a frenzied chorale with improvised dynamics from the harp, winds and strings.

Preview the score

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.