Repertoire Search

Peter Lieberson

Publisher: AMP

Ashoka's Dream (1997),
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Opera and Music Theatre
Year Composed
1 Hour 40 Minutes
SATB chorus
Solo Instrument(s)
13 Vocal Soloists: Bar, B, T, T, B, B, T, Bar, S, Mz, S, S, Mz, A
Programme Note
Peter Lieberson Ashoka's Dream (1997),
Cast List:
   ASHOKA, Emperor of lndia: High Baritone
   LAKSHMI, Queen of India: Soprano
   TRIRAKSHA, Queen of India: Mezzo-Soprano
   GIRIKA: Tenor

   Four Ministers:
   CANKYA, Prime Minister: Bass
   RAGA: Tenor
   KRODA: Baritone
   MADU: Bass

   Four Elements (Earth, Water, Fire & Air): 2 Sopranos, Mezzo-Soprano, Contralto

   SAGE: Baritone


The story of Ashoka Maurya, a 3rd-century B.C. king of India and the only ruler to unify India until the 19th century A.D. The opera focuses on Ashoka’s transformation from angry, isolated young conqueror to enlightened ruler. His revolutionary approach to government was based on a justice code whose central principles were universal tolerance, generosity, compassion, and nonaggression. Ashoka’s Dream imagines events in the ruler’s life, and in the lives of those close to him before, during, and after his transformation.

View Full Score - Act II

  • Soloist(s)
    Lorraine Hunt Lieberson (Mezzo Soprano), Roger Vignoles (Piano)
    Wigmore Hall Live:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.