Repertoire Search

Aaron Jay Kernis

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Lament and Prayer (1995),
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
25 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Programme Note
Aaron Jay Kernis Lament and Prayer (1995),
Francesco D'Orazio, violin

Composer Note:

Lament and Prayer marks the end of a series - the other bookend, so to speak - of a group of works motivated by my reaction to war and suffering, to genocide, especially in terms of the Holocaust, and to what we know has been going on in Bosnia.

Upon completing Lament and Prayer, I intend to put these emotional concerns to rest for a while. Ever since my Symphony No. 2 of 1991, which was partly a response to the Gulf War crisis, I've been writing pieces related to war. In fact, I quote a number of these pieces throughout Lament and Prayer. The dedication in the score reads: "In commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the end of World War II and the Holocaust."

The image I often had in mind while composing Lament and Prayer was that of a cantor and a congregation. The music proceeds as statement and response in much of the first part, which is very chromatic, rather severe-sounding and intense the prayer is mostly quiet, and spun from a very simple, long line with pulsing harmonies underneath- just the hint of the minimalist elements that occasionally crop up in my music. On the surface it is mostly peaceful, and the last part comes to a resolution, closing this chapter of my work. Things on this globe are even more precarious than when I began this series in 1991. I have to detach and leave the world conflicts out of my music for a while.

—Aaron Jay Kernis

Glenn Dicterow

  • Ensemble
    Minnesota Orchestra
    Pamela Frank, violin
    David Zinman
  • Ensemble
    St. Paul Chamber Orchestra
    Cho-Liang Lin, violin; Sharon Isbin, guitar
    Hugh Wolff
LAMENT AND PRAYER has a kind of cantorial mournfulness...Beneath the solos are liquid string harmonies, anguished scurrying and major outbursts suitable to the subject matter...Mr. Kernis plays on our heartstrings with considerable effect...
Bernard Holland , The New York Times,01/01/0001
Kernis's LAMENT AND PRAYER is part of a series that Kernis wrote in the 1990's, when he was intent on capturing his responses to war and genocide in his music. Overtly, this concerto-like work is a Holocaust memorial, with a gracefully lachrymose and impassioned solo violin line that draws on the contours of cantorial chant. The orchestral writing reinforces the plaintive qualities of the violin affectingly.
Allan Kozinn, The New York Times,01/01/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.