Repertoire Search

Giya Kancheli

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Ergo (2000)
Work Notes
available in the USA, Canada and Mexico only
Hans Sikorski Russian Works
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
21 Minutes

[Giya Kancheli's] attractive ERGO infuses the "spiritual" style with which we have become familiar with a dollop of wit. Again, Kancheli makes do with few notes, and again, he derives uncommon eloquence from sudden silences. Mournful, ethereal string figures are complemented by English horn interjections and brass commentaries, which grow more insistent until they finally dominate. A crescendo metamorphoses into an obsessive three-note figure, when Kancheli derives a dancing motive that saturates the orchestra.
Allan Ulrich, San Francisco Chronicle,1/1/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.