Repertoire Search

Giya Kancheli

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Abii Ne Viderem (Left In Order Not To See) (original version) (1992)
Work Notes
available in the USA, Canada and Mexico only
Hans Sikorski Russian Works
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Sub Category
Chamber Orchestra
Year Composed
22 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Alto Flute

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
   Study Score

Programme Note
Giya Kancheli Abii Ne Viderem (Left In Order Not To See) (original version) (1992)
Composer note:

Recently I heard a quite accurate expression, “All the other artistic genres try to affect us through conviction while music catches us off guard.” Indeed, the phenomenon of music possesses this rare quality. Most often, however, I am usually struck by that mysterious silence which precedes the birth of a sound. A world of sounds also exists after which silence is perceived as music.

Within my modest possibilities, I decided to touch this complex problem in Abii ne viderem. It is difficult to say more about this piece since each of us has personal feelings and each of us tries to express them differently. After all, the music that catches us off guard shouldn’t need concretization.

Nevertheless, music prepares silence and sometimes the silence itself turns into music. To create such silence is my dream.

---Giya Kancheli

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.