Repertoire Search

Andrew Imbrie

Publisher: AMP

String Quartet No. 5 (1987)
Malcolm Music
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
27 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...

Schoenberg lives! Andrew Imbrie is still a devotee of his acerbic sound and atonal syntax and shows that there is still powerful music to be written in that idiom. The "Fourth Quartet" (1969) is based on an arching, straining melody that moves from instrument to instrument in extreme ranges and ends with a beautiful chord. The "Fifth Quartet," written in 1987, is as harmonically and rhythmically thorny as the "Fourth" and puts more emphasis on the lyrical, but it is just as searching and uncompromising as the earlier work.
David W. Moore, American Record Guide,1/1/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.