Repertoire Search

Karel Husa

Publisher: AMP

Fresque (revised version) (1963)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
11 Minutes
Programme Note
Karel Husa Fresque (revised version) (1963)
Digital perusal score available from SchirmerOnDemand
Fresque for Orchestra is the first part of a larger work by Karel Husa called Three Fresques for Orchestra. Husa composed the work while studying in Paris from 1946-1947 with the French composer Arther Honegger. Fresque for Orchestra is a 1963 revised version of the original work.

  • Ensemble
    Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
    Barry Kolman
  • 27 FEB 2009
    Syracuse, NY
    Syracuse Symphony Orchestra
    Samuel Wong, conductor

    Other Dates:
    28 February - Syracuse, NY

The concerto opened with three of Husa’s compositions: “Fresques,” and “Two Sonnets from Michelangelo” titled “The Night” and “To God.” All three are powerful works, and show that Husa is a genius at working with orchestral color, or timbres.... "Fresques" (Fresco) is music composed of large dimensions and large gestures, the same as a fresco is painted on a large area with large brushstrokes.
Marnie Ross, Greensboro Daily News,15/07/1973
What ended a memorable evening began on some extremely solid footing. Karel Husa’s “Fresque for Orchestra,” an exciting piece recalling several influences including Honegger’s, was treated to a surging display of precision, force and intoxicating lyricism.
Cornell Daily Sun,03/12/1971
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.