Repertoire Search

Karel Husa

Publisher: AMP

String Quartet No. 3 (1968)
Work Notes
Pulitzer Prize for Music, 1969
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
19 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Karel Husa String Quartet No. 3 (1968)
Composer note:

String Quartet No. 3 was composed in Ithaca during the winter 1967-68 and completed in March, 1968. in my previous quartets – one of them, No. 2, performed quite extensively by the Fine Arts Quartet – I did not preoccupy myself as much with new sonorities as in the new Quartet no. 3. Also, the form of the movements in the former two was rather traditional. The new composition explores some solo predominance, spotlighting the several instruments in rather free forms: the viola in the first movement; violoncello in the second; the two violins in the third. After Bartok, Berg, and Webern, it is not easy to imagine new ways of playing on string instruments. I feel that I have been able to find some unusual paths for bow and finger. As for the rest, I have used all the possibilities hitherto available. The forms of the four movements are few, based mostly on contrasting colors and inner tension. The work is dedicated to the Fine Arts Quartet.

--Karel Husa

  • Ensemble
    Fine Arts String Quartet
    Music & Arts Programs Of America:
  • Ensemble
    The Fine Arts Quartet
    Phoenix USA:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.