Repertoire Search

Sergei Prokofiev

Publisher: G. Schirmer

War and Peace (1952), Op. 91
Work Notes
G Schirmer is the publisher of the work in the USA, Canada and Mexico only. Le Chant du Monde is the publisher of the work in France, Belgium, Luxemburg, Andorra, French speaking African countries.
Text Writer
Libretto by the composer and Mira Mendelson
Schirmer Russian Music/Le Chant du Monde
Opera and Music Theatre
Year Composed
3 Hours 50 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
2 Baritones, 4 Basses, 2 Sopranos, Alto or Mezzo Soprano, 2 Tenors, 2 Mezzo sopranos
Programme Note
Sergei Prokofiev War and Peace (1952), Op. 91
Lyric-dramatic scenes.

Set in Russia around the time of Napoleon’s invasion, this is a love story of Prince Andrei Bolkonsky and Natasha, told against the background of the fighting between the French and the Russian armies.

First performed as a concert of 11 scenes on 7 June 1944 by the USSR State Symphony Orchestra with conductor Samuil Samosud. These 11 scenes were staged for the first time on 31 March 1955 at the Leningrad State Academy's Maly Opera Theatre, conducted by Eduard Grikurov. Ultimately a version for 13 scenes was staged for the first time on 8 November 1957 at the Stanislavsky Opera Theatre in Moscow with Alexander Shaverdov as the conductor.

  • 28 MAR 2020
    Crouse Hinds Concert Theater / Syracuse, NY / USA
    Performing Overture Movement Only; Lawrence Loh, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.