Repertoire Search

Roy Harris

Publisher: AMP

Symphony No. 3 (1938)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
18 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Roy Harris Symphony No. 3 (1938)
Composer Note:

Section I: Tragic-- bow string sonorities.

Section II: Lyric-- strings, horns, and woodwinds.

Section III: Pastoral-- emphasizing woodwind color.

Section IV: Fugue-- dramatic.
A. Brass-- percussion predominating.
B. Canonic development of Section II material constituting background for further development of Fugue.
C. Brass Climax. Rhythmic motif derived from Fugue subject.

Section V: Dramatic-- Tragic.
Restatement of Violin Theme Section I. Tutti strings in canon with tutti wood winds. Brass and percussion develop rhythmic motif from climax of Section IV.

1. Melodic Contours-- Diatonic-- Polytonal.
2. Harmonic Textures-- Consonance-- Polytonal.

-- Roy Harris

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.