Repertoire Search

Arnold Cooke

Publisher: Novello & Co

Violin Concerto (1958)
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
27 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Programme Note
Arnold Cooke Violin Concerto (1958)
Arnold Cooke: Violin Concerto

The composer's intention in this work is to exploit the lyrical, expressive and rhythmical capabilities of the violin, rather than to aim at virtuoso display. The work is in three movements: the first an Allegro moderato, then an Adagio, with a long melody for the solo violin, and finally a dance-like Rondo, marked 'molto vivace'. In the middle of this last movement the violin introduces a simple folk-like melody, accompanied only by the harp, and this tune returns after a cadenza, to bring the music to a cheerful end.

This work is published by Novello and Co. Ltd.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.