Repertoire Search

Michael Gordon

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Potassium (2001)
Red Poppy
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
Michael Gordon Potassium (2001)

Composer note:
Throughout Potassium I use a distortion unit or fuzz box on the string quartet to create a mysterious and charged sound. Potassium begins with major and minor chords sliding in and out of tune –– very simple harmonies that, with the use of electronics and glissandos, become fogged up like a blur, making you unsure of what you are hearing. This music eventually breaks out into a section which I call in the score, "Frenzied Soul Explosion," with a wilder sliding accompanied by attacking chords. In some part of my brain I must have known that in the Periodic Table of Elements, Potassium is listed as the symbol K. Potassium is dedicated to the Kronos Quartet.

—Michael Gordon

Potassium was commissioned by the Kronos Quartet.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.