Repertoire Search

Michael Gordon

Publisher: G. Schirmer

ac dc (1996)
Red Poppy
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
Pierrot Ensemble (no voice)
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
Michael Gordon ac dc (1996)
April 4 1997
Alternate Currents
Music in the Mountains Spring Festival
Grass Valley, CA

Composer note:

ac dc is based on a simple, almost pop, chord progression that somehow found its way into 11/8, the basic time signature that runs throughout the whole piece. I layered oddly phrased melodies on top, with the cello playing a pizzacato bass groove.

ac dc was commissioned by the Alternate Currents ensemble, which made me think about electricity. I'm not a scientist or engineer, so I was free to imagine that alternating currents were something like two different speeds or rhythms going on simultaneously.

––Michael Gordon

ac dc was commissioned by Chamber Music America for Alternate Currents.

Sample Pages

This item is available via Print on Demand from the G. Schirmer Library.

Set: $37.50

To order please fill out this form and email to or fax to 845-469-7544.

Click here for more information about Print on Demand.

  • Ensemble
    Sentieri Selvaggi
    Cantaloupe Music:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.