Repertoire Search

Anthony Davis

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Litany of Sins (1991)
G Schirmer Inc
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
30 Minutes
Programme Note
Anthony Davis Litany of Sins (1991)


Litany of Sins is a graceful yet energetic work with a provocative sense of underlying restlessness. A long lyrical solo line glides atop the driving rhythm of a repeated, low-lying motif. A sparse musical landscape is fleshed out slowly, one instrument at a time, finally creating a multihued texture. Each of the three movements has a distinctive character, though all share a kind of playful delicacy. The first is rhythmically aggressive and uses jazzy syncopations to put its points across; the second is gentler and emphasizes solo work; the third is comparatively dark, substantive. Davis couldn't have asked for a better performance...
Susan Elliott, New York Post,1/1/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.