Repertoire Search

John Corigliano

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Gazebo Dances (for orchestra) (1974)
G Schirmer Inc
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
John Corigliano Gazebo Dances (for orchestra) (1974)
Composer Note:

Gazebo Dances was originally written as a set of four-hand piano pieces dedicated to certain of my pianist friends. I later arranged the suite for orchestra and for concert band, and it is from the latter version that the title is drawn. The title, Gazebo Dances, was suggested by the pavilions often seen on village greens in towns throughout the countryside, where public band concerts are given on summer evenings. The delights of that sort of entertainment are portrayed in this set of dances, which begins with a Rossini-like Overture, followed by a rather peg-legged Waltz, a long-lined Adagio and a bouncy Tarantella.

— John Corigliano

  • Ensemble
    Louisville Orchestra
    Lawrence Leighton Smith
    First Edition Music:
  • G. Schirmer / AMP:
  • Ensemble
    University of Texas Wind Ensemble
    Jerry Junkin
  • Ensemble
    Riverside City College Wind Ensemble
    Amy Cisneros (Piano), Alaric Albiso (Percussion)
    Kevin Mayse
    Sea Breeze:
John Corigliano's GAZEBO DANCES is a suite, 14-minutes long, in four movements: Overture, Waltz, Adagio, and Tarantella. Perky, extrovert, and full of musical surprises, it excites and entertains at the same time.
Robert McColley, Fanfare,01/01/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.