Repertoire Search

Daniel Catán

Publisher: AMP

Florencia en el Amazonas (Orchestral Suite) (2003)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
28 Minutes
Programme Note
Daniel Catán Florencia en el Amazonas (Orchestral Suite) (2003)
Daniel Catán’s Florencia Suite brings together music from six scenes of his opera Florencia en el Amazonas (1996). The libretto for this opera takes inspiration from Gabriel García Márquez’s novel Love in the Time of Cholera. In this piece, Catán tries to create a musical equivalent for the “magical realism” often found in García Márquez’s works. This orchestral suite was written for the Madison Symphony Orchestra in 2003.
1. On the Pier
2. Arcadio
3. The Storm
4. Sunrise
5. Paula
6. Florencia's Farewell

A relevant programme note is available on the Florencia en el Amazonas page.

The Madison Symphony and its listeners followed John DeMain on a perilous journey down the mighty Amazon River, with the world premiere of Mexican composer Daniel Catán's SUITE from his acclaimed opera FLORENCIA EN EL AMAZONAS, commissioned by the MSO. It starts out like Debussy's LA MER flowing into an Amazon full of floating jalapeños [with] spicy ensemble effects. Luscious orchestral swirls and tart dissonance help suggest the onboard romances, the ship running aground, a cholera epidemic at the port and the opera singer Florencia's desire to find her lost lover.
Kevin Lynch, The Capital Times (Madison, WI),01/01/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.