Repertoire Search

Ernst Bacon

Publisher: G. Schirmer

The Enchanted Isle (1945)
G Schirmer Inc
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Programme Note
Ernst Bacon The Enchanted Isle (1945)
A colorful and cheerful suite based on characters and episodes in
Shakespeare's "The Tempest."

Composer note:
The Enchanted Isle is the home of Prospero, Miranda, and Caliban, to which the homeward-bound royal party of the King of Naples has been brought through shipwrecks contrived by Prospero, by aid of magic and arts, and with the help of the spirit Ariel. Here Ferdinand, the king's son, and Miranda, Prospero's daughter, come to love each other, and the royal usurpers, Antonio, Sebastian, and Alonso, after some chastisements, are forgiven by the benevolent right Duke of Milan, Prospero.

The score was made from music originally written for productions of Shakespeare's "Tempest" at Converse College, Spartanburg, South Carolina, and later Syracuse University. Its nine numbers characterize leading persons and events of the play, and are interwoven with the element of magic and unreality with which the author covers his thoroughly human story. It will be noted that virtually all of the orchestra's instruments appear soloistically at one time or another. Thus the work can be used as an illustrative guide to the orchestra for young people.

—Ernst Bacon

  1. Shipwreck
  2. Ariel
  3. Miranda
  4. Caliban
  5. Ariel and Conspirators
  6. The Shapes
  7. Reapers and Nymphs
  8. Prospero's Farewell
  9. Marriage Blessing

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.