Repertoire Search

Lera Auerbach

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Concerto No. 1 for Violin and Orchestra (2003)
Hans Sikorski
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Sub Category
Chamber Orchestra
Year Composed
28 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Programme Note
Lera Auerbach Concerto No. 1 for Violin and Orchestra (2003)
1. Grandioso
2. Moderato
3. Andante religioso
4. Allegro

Bold and brashy was Lera Auerbach's VIOLIN CONCERTO NO. 1, commissioned by the AYS. The complex, exotic harmonies recall the mystical Orientalism of Puccini's TURANDOT, particularly in the second movement, with its ghostly eerieness and spartan harmonic landscape. Much of the work's emotional power is conveyed through the solo violin, and features a soulful cadenza in the final movement (a brilliant touch) that emerges triumphant from the savage onslaught of the opening movement. It is a worthwhile work that deserves wider recognition.
Truman C. Wang,,1/1/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.