Repertoire Search

John Corigliano

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Soliloquy (for clarinet and string quartet) (1995)
G Schirmer Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
Mixed Ensemble
Year Composed
9 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
   Score and Part(s)

Programme Note
John Corigliano Soliloquy (for clarinet and string quartet) (1995)
Related works:
   Soliloquy (for clarinet and string quartet)
   Soliloquy (for clarinet and orchestra)

Composer note:
Soliloquy was written in memory of my father, who died on September 1, 1975. He had been a concertmaster of the New York Philharmonic for 23 years, and I still find it hard to think of that orchestra without him sitting in the first chair. So the idea of an extended dialogue for clarinet and violin seemed not only natural but inevitable. The Soliloquy begins with a long, unaccompanied line for the violin. The other strings enter, and a mood of sustained lyricism introduces the clarinet. The prevailing feeling is that of desolation. I deliberately avoided an emotional climax in the Soliloquy, feeling that sustaining the same mood throughout the music would achieve a heightened intensity. Structurally, this movement alternates two melodic ideas. The first is introduced by the violin (in B), while the second (in B-flat) is represented by the clarinet. A three-note motto (C-sharp, B, B-flat) grows from the alternation of the two tonalities and provides a third major element. The movement ends as it began, with the same long violin line, this time joined by the clarinet.

— John Corigliano

Sample Pages

  • Ensemble
    Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center
    David Shifrin, clarinet; Ida Kavafian and Carmit Zori, violins; Paul Neubauer, viola; Fred Sherry, cello
  • Soloist(s)
    Stanley Drucker, clarinet; Lisa Kim and Kerry McDermott, violins; Gerald Appleman, cello; Rebecca Young, viola
    Cala Records:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.