Repertoire Search

Ezra Laderman

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Partita (violin) (1990)
G Schirmer Inc
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
28 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Solo Part Solo Part

Programme Note
Ezra Laderman Partita (violin) (1990)
Composer Note:

The Partita for Violin is in eight parts. The seven-note theme heard at the outset acts as the source for all that will follow. The intervals of the fourth, fifth, and third outlining a ninth are followed by a seventh with an upward yearning and then a precipitous drop. This sequence creates a contour that, evolving, acts as the catalyst for the work. Each of the eight parts explores a different facet of the instrument. All the movements though emotionally and technically different, are bound by a common intervallic relationship. They portray an interior vision of one remembered or imagined, of moments felt or dreamt. The whole tries to capture a mood, a color, a tapestry of sound extolling an instrument I dearly love and an ethos I cannot deny. When asked over the years, “What is you favorite work?”, I would walk away from the question, but when I ask it of myself, I at once hear Bach’s Partita No. 4 in D minor for Violin. Once in a while the B-minor Mass intrudes, but today as I write these words the Suite is closest to me.

— Ezra Laderman

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.