Repertoire Search

Bright Sheng

Publisher: G. Schirmer

String Quartet No. 3 (1993)
G Schirmer Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
18 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s) Score and Part(s)

Programme Note
Bright Sheng String Quartet No. 3 (1993)
Composer Note:

This work was inspired by the memory of a Tibetan folk dance which I came across about twenty years ago when I was living in Chinhai, the province on the border between China and Tibet. What I remember most about this particular dace is that it started with freely rhythmic folk singing and segued into a very rhythmic dance, over which the singing continued. Although the structure of my string quartet bears some resemblance to my memory of this dance, I did not attempt to recreate the dance scene. Rather, in many ways, my faint memory served as a point of departure for the composition. The materials in this work develop towards the final Larghetto section, which is an elegy in memoriam of friends who have died in recent years.

String Quartet No. 3 was written between May and September of 1993. It was co-commissioned by Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts in New York City, the University of California at Berkeley, the Ensemble Music Society of Indianapolis, the University of Iowa, the University of Colorado, and the Takacs Quartet, to whom the work is dedicated.

—Bright Sheng

  • Ensemble
    Shanghai String Quartet
Sheng’s String Quartet No. 3 is an effective work…The composer is skilled at making the instruments play with a memorable sense of sadness, yet with rich tones that keep the listerner’s attention…Sheng has a commanding ability to combine traditional sounds with Asian elements for a unique synthesis…
James Hennerty, The Albany Times Union,01/01/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.