Repertoire Search

Karel Husa

Publisher: AMP

Sonata à tre (1981)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
20 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s) Score and Part(s)

Programme Note
Karel Husa Sonata à tre (1981)
This work received its world premiere in March, 1982 in Hong Kong.

Composer Note:

Sonata á tre was commissioned by the Verdehr Trio, in residence at Michigan State University, and composed in Ithaca, New York during late 1981 and early 1982. Written in three movements, the work features each performer in one movement. The violin opens in a solo preludium followed by a toccata-like conclusion. The second movement features the piano in a slow fantasia leading into elegiac music. The third movement begins with a clarinet cadenza and later the violin and piano join in a fast finale.

The title “sonata” refers not to the “classical” meaning of the sonata but rather to the earlier baroque meaning of the word. The music, however, is part of today’s world as new possibilities of techniques (individual and collective) have been used and new sounds explored. Sonata á Tre is written in a virtuosic manner and, hopefully, for the excitement of solo and chamber music-making. It is dedicated to the Verdehr Trio.

— Karel Husa

  • Ensemble
    Verdehr Trio
    Elsa Ludewig-Verdehr (Clarinet), Walter Verdehr (Violin), Gary Kirkpatrick (Piano)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.