Repertoire Search

John Harbison

Publisher: AMP

Three Occasional Pieces (1978)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
John Harbison Three Occasional Pieces (1978)
1. Gospel Shout (1978)
2. Two Part Invention (1983)
3. Thankyou Notes (1982)*

Composer note:
Gospel Shout was composed as a remembrance of the young composer John Boros (1943-1973), who was at Brandies as a student and faculty member. He also taught himself to be a fine Gospel piano player, with a black group in Rome (the Folk Studio Singers). He was a buoyant and open-spirited man, and this rough paraphrase of his Gospel style is meant to celebrate those qualities. Craig Smith gave the first performance at a testimonial celebration for Reverend Al Kershaw at Emmanuel Church.

The Two Part Invention was composed as a birthday gift for Andre Previn, It is a sort of Homage to Prokofieff, a composer we both love more than is permitted in august musical society.

The Thankyou Notes, a couple hundred of them, were composed for Ed and Mary Jean Cook, our generous hosts during two weeks at the Santa Fe Chamber Festival in 1981. Mary Jean Cook is a fine keyboard player. The bell sounds that frame the piece seemed like they might sound well on her harpsichord. The first performance was by Yee-Ha Chiu of Pittsburgh.

— John Harbison

* This work originally featured a fourth movement,Standards, which is currently unavailable.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.