Repertoire Search

Joan Tower

Publisher: AMP

Snow Dreams (1983)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
Mixed Ensemble
Year Composed
9 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score Score

Programme Note
Joan Tower Snow Dreams (1983)
Snow Dreams was completed in January 1983 and is dedicated to Sharon Isbin and Carol Wincenc, who commissioned it through a grant from the Schubert Club.

Composer Note:

There are many different images of snow, its forms and its movements: light snow flakes pockets of swirls of snow, rounded drifts, long white plains of blankets of snow, light and heavy snowfalls, etc. Many of these images can be found in the piece, if in fact, they need to be found at all. The listener will determine that choice.

—Joan Tower

  • Soloist(s)
    Jeff McFadden, guitar; Alexandra Hawley, flute
  • Soloist(s)
    Nicholas Goluses, guitar; Bonita Boyd, flute
    Albany Records:
  • Soloist(s)
    Sharon Isbin, guitar; Carol Wincenc, flute
    New World Records:
[A] program of relatively conservative 20th century music reached its peak of adventurousness with Joan Tower’s 1983 “Snow Dreams.” For this listener, it also represented the recital’s peak of interest. It’s a rather episodic work that continually reveals new and not necessarily connected ideas. Opening with a contemplative solo statement for each instrument, the duo then dug intently into a four-note motif… reminiscent of the so-called “fate theme” of Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony. This developed into some wonderfully chattery interplay for the two instruments before going on to such other expressions as a series of separate expostulations on different ideas segued together very artfully.
Herman Trotter, The Buffalo News,10/22/1993
[One] highlight was a 1983 score entitled “Snow Dreams” by Joan Tower, gently dazzling in its agile synchronization of the two instruments.
John Rockwell, THe New York Times,11/13/1988
Beguiling, well-made music.
Michael Anthony, Minneapolis Star and Tribune,4/20/1983
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.