Repertoire Search

Elliott Carter

Publisher: AMP

Night Fantasies (1980)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
24 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Elliott Carter Night Fantasies (1980)
Night Fantasies is a piano piece of continuously changing moods, suggesting the fleeting thoughts and feelings that pass through the mind during a period of wakefulness at night. The quiet, nocturnal evocation with which it begins and to which it returns occasionally, is suddenly broken by a flighty series of short phrases that emerge and disappear. This episode is followed by many others of contrasting characters and lengths that sometimes break in abruptly and at other, develop smoothly out of what has gone before. The work culminates in a loud periodic repetition of an emphatic chord that, as it dies away, brings the work to its conclusion.

In this score, I wanted to capture the fanciful, changeable quality of our inner life at a time when it is not dominated by strong, directive intentions or desires – to capture the poetic moodiness that, in an earlier romantic context, we employ in the works of Robert Schumann like Kreisleriana, Carnaval, and Davids-bundlertanze.

--Elliott Carter

  • Soloist(s)
    Ursula Oppens (Piano)
    Music & Arts Programs of America:
  • Soloist(s)
    Stephen Drury (Piano)
  • Soloist(s)
    Winston Choi (Piano)
    L'empreinte Digitale:
  • Soloist(s)
    Charles Rosen (Piano)
  • Soloist(s)
    Pierre-Laurent Aimard (Piano)
    Warner Classics International:
  • Soloist(s)
    Ursula Oppens, piano
  • Soloist(s)
    Håkon Austbø (piano)
  • Soloist(s)
    Aleck Karis
  • Ensemble
    New York Chamber Symphony, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra
  • Soloist(s)
    Eric Huebner
    New Focus:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.