Repertoire Search

Niels Rosing-Schow

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Ritus I (1990)
Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Niels Rosing-Schow Ritus I (1990)
'Ritus' is the title common to a series of works which, through musical exploration of the notions 'tempo', 'velocity', and 'density', focuses on the experience of gradual rhythmic changes.

'Ritus I' for flute and percussion unfolds as one long ascending line in three phases, followed by a short coda. The title 'Ritus' is thus pointing to the music's inexorably advancing process, but also - although in a somewhat abstract way - refers to ceremonial music of other cultures.

The work was written for the flautist Svend Melbye, who gave its world premiere at his debut concert in October 1990.


  • 01 MAR 2009
    Fuglsang Musikforening
    Fuglsang, Danmark
    Svend Melbye, fløjte; Mathias Reumert, slagtøj
  • 01 MAR 2009
    Fuglsang Musikforening, Toreby, Denmark
    Svend Merbye, Jakob Westh
  • 31 JAN 2007
    Vestjysk Musikkonservatorium, Esbjerg, Denmark
    Esbjerg Ensemble

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.