Repertoire Search

Karl Aage Rasmussen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Solos and Shadows (1983)
Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
20 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   
Set of Parts   

Programme Note
Karl Aage Rasmussen Solos and Shadows (1983)
Solos and Shadows (composed in Rome, 1983) is about the individual and the mass, the melody and the chorus or - in a memorable phrase of the composer - "whispers and shouts"; and it's about how these opposing entities can deceptively change about, the one becoming the other. Throughout most of the quartet there are constant changes - or rater, interruptions of mood, colour and tempo; before a final section which, Beethoven-style carries the music away in a breathlessly fast tempo.

  • Ensemble
    Arditti String Quartet
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.