Repertoire Search

Karl Aage Rasmussen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Movements on a Moving Line (1988)
Work Notes
Chamber version
Wilhelm Hansen
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
17 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Karl Aage Rasmussen Movements on a Moving Line (1988)
’Movements on a Moving Line’ was commissioned by the Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra and first performed in 1987 with Oliver Knussen conducting. Some old/new questions intriguing me for years also rummage in this mini-symphony: does time flow like a river or is it just there, endlessly? Does a musical experience carry us along in time or does it surround us with single moments? One single melodic line runs through the whole work: from it (and on it) four traditional movements emerge: Allegro, Slow Waltz, a Fanfare-Scherzo and a rhythmical Finale. The melodic line runs in a circle, however, within itself, fast and slow at the same time, like a whirl. Thus the movements come and go and the end is the beginning. What is past and present, fast and slow, if you are moving within a moving circle?

The present version was written in 1988 for the seven instruments of the Elsinore Players.

- Karl Aage Rasmussen

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.