Repertoire Search

Arne Nordheim

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Flashing (1986)
Wilhelm Hansen
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
8 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Arne Nordheim Flashing (1986)
FLASHING was written between 1985-86 for the distinguished Danish accordionist Mogens Ellegaard. A work of virtuoso proportions, as indicated by its title, it is a reworking of material taken from the cadenza of Spur, a 1974 composition for solo accordion and orchestra. In Flashing, the composer explores what he describes as the “interesting possibilities” of the instrument, such as its ability to sustain notes in crescendo or diminuendo (which compares to the human voice), its variety of register (likened to the organ), and attacks which can be quite metallic. Nordheim relates his interest in the accordion to his work in electronic music.

  • 02 AUG 2013
    Three Choirs Festival 2013
    St Mary de Lode Church, Gloucester, UK
    Martynas Levickis

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.