Repertoire Search

Arne Nordheim

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Partita für Paul (1985)
Wilhelm Hansen
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Arne Nordheim Partita für Paul (1985)
Partita für Paul was commissioned by the Henie-Onstad Kunstsenter, Oslo, for the big exhibition "Klee and Music" in 1985. The piece consists of five movements for violin solo and five pictures by the Swiss painter Paul Klee lend titles and inspiration to the music:

I. Tanze, du Ungeheur
II. Schwankendes Gleichgewicht
III. Schwebendes (vor dem Anstieg)
IV. Harpia Harpiana
V. Individualisierte Höhemessung der Lagen

I have tried to capture in my music some of the many moods and textures in these paintings: poetic, dreamlike, grotesque - angles defying the laws of nature, objects playing with gravity.

In the last two movements I have added a digital delay unit, which records and plays back the music of the violin; this results in a continuosly expanding, mulit-layered soundscape, the "past" gradually crowding the ever present "live" music. In this way I imitate the "layer-upon-layer" technique which Klee obviously loved. By constantly confronting the music with its own immediate (and more remote) past. I also pay homage to T. S. Eliot and his similar perception of time in the poem "burnt Norton".

  • Soloist(s)
    Peter Herresthal (violin)
  • Soloist(s)
    Peter Herresthal (violin)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.