Repertoire Search

Arne Nordheim

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Wirklicher Wald (1983)
Wilhelm Hansen
Chorus and Orchestra/Ensemble
Year Composed
28 Minutes
German, Hebrew
Soprano, Cello

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Arne Nordheim Wirklicher Wald (1983)
A composition often conceives itself in one’s own memory. There is a long enigmatic distance between the birth ideas and their musical execution. This is particularly true about “Wirklicher Wald”, which has come a long way from its distant origins. In the early 50’s the Swedish Radio featured a musical and literary programme, “Night Exercise”, which proved an important source of inspiration, introducing the great poets of our time. A programme on Rainer Maria Rilke presented his poem “Todeserfarung” from 1908. I immediately saw a sequence of pictures calling for music. I can still hear this calling; still see the pictures, which, throughout the years have resulted in various musical transformations of these rich impulses from Rilke. Three years ago, my musical rendering of Rilke was again on its way: a large scale international collaboration with the distinguished Czech choreographer Jiri Kylian was to include “Todeserfarung”.

The project was dropped, and a large material of music remained silent. “Wirklicher Wald” employs this material in a largely adapted form. Together with Rilke’s poem I also include fragments from the Book of Job (14) in Hebrew in the ecstatic exclamations of the soprano soloist against the background of the German chorale. The cello solo is intended as a continuation and reflection of the dramatic and lyrical parts of the soprano and chorus.

- Arne Nordheim

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Bergen Symphony Orchestra & Bergen Cathedral Choir
    Dorothy Dorow (soprano), Aage Kvalbein (cello)
    Karsten Andersen
    Norwegian Composers:
  • Ensemble
    Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra & Bergen Cathedral Choir
    Dorothy Dorow (cello), Aage Kvalbein (cello)
    Karsten Andersen
  • 16 OCT 2014
    Grieghallen, Bergen, Norway
    Bergen Filharmoniske Orkester, Bergen Filharmoniske Kor
    Cyndia Sieden (soprano), Agnese Rugevica (cello); Ole Kristian Ruud, conductor
  • 22 NOV 2007
    RTV, Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Slovenia RTV Symphony Orchestra
    Ragnar Rasmussen, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.