Repertoire Search

Arne Nordheim

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Violinkoncert (1996)
Wilhelm Hansen
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
25 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Arne Nordheim Violinkoncert (1996)
The Violin Concerto was composed in 1996 as a commission from the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra for Arve Tellefsen. The solo part has the leading role in the work and is very difficult to play. The composer and Arve Tellefsen, therefore, were very much in contact with each other during the composition of the work.

Arne Nordheim says that for this concerto like in other works he has composed, ideas have come to him so to speak out of nowhere. ’It is as if parts of me are extreme; that which is low down or high up, that which is very weak or very strong’.

The composer has himself told how he has worked with gradual condensation and dissolution in the concerto. It is possible to hear continuous changes of mood in the work but the fundamental mood is, according to Nordheim, sadness.

  • Ensemble
    Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra
    Arve Tellefsen (violin)
    Christian Eggen
    Sony Classical:
It opens with a riot of chimes, jangling percussion and brittle harmonies in the winds and brass, and then breaks into the first of many searching themes for fidgety, shimmering strings. At times in this work, Mr. Nordheim seems a Norwegian Messiaen.
Anthony Tommasini, The New York Times,08/11/2005
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.