Repertoire Search

Arne Nordheim

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Spur (1975)
Wilhelm Hansen
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
25 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Arne Nordheim Spur (1975)
Spur (1975) is a large-scale concerto for accordion and orchestra which was commisioned by the S├╝dwestfunk Orchestra in Baden-Baden. As already indicated above, through his relationship to traditional historical forms, Nordheim seeks to recapture the correspondence of these forms with the social dynamic which gave birth to them. The history of the concerto as a medium of communication is without any doubt closely interlinked with its role as intermediary between social convention and individual freedom and the process through which individual creativity is absorbed to become common property, leaving behind footprints and signposts in culture. The title can also be likened to the footprints left behind by the solo instrument as it explores the open orchestral landscape created by the stereophonic arrangement of the instruments, as well as to the footprints left by the surroundings themselves on the solo instrument's own patterns of reaction.

  • Ensemble
    Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
    Mogens Ellegaard (accordion)
    Per Dreier
  • Ensemble
    Royal Philharmic Orchestra
    Mogens Ellegaard (accordion)
    Per Dreier
  • Ensemble
    Norwegian Radio Orchestra
    Frode Haltli, accordion
    Christian Eggen
  • 06 FEB 2016
    Freiburg, Germany
    Orchester der Hochschule Freiburg
    Massimiliano Matesic, conductor
  • 05 FEB 2016
    Karlsruhe, Germany
    Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland Pfalz
    Nenad Ivanovic, accordion; Ariane Matiakh, conductor
  • 27 JUN 2015
    Bern, Switzerland
    Sinfonie Orchester Biel Solothurn
    Kaspaz Zehnder, conductor
  • 24 NOV 2012
    Huddersfield Festival
    Huddersfield, UK
    BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
    Frode Haltli; Matthias Pintscher, conductor
  • 10 NOV 2012
    Oslo, Norway
    Norwegian Broadcasting Orchestra
    Frode Haltli
  • 02 JUL 2011
    Porvoo, Finland
    Avanti Chamber Orchestra
    Frode Haltli; Dima Slobodeniouk, conductor
  • 29 JAN 2008
    Paris, France
    CNSM de Paris
  • 10 OCT 2001
    Festival Octobre en Normandie
    Le Havre, France

    Other Dates:
    14 October - Rouen, France

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.