Repertoire Search

Arne Nordheim

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Magma (1988)
Wilhelm Hansen
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
23 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Arne Nordheim Magma (1988)
The title of the composition is mirrored in the first eruptive movements. The sound which is the foundation of the composition is presented here: two rows of chords in a close orchestral cover. In a rondoish way these rows of chords also present the melodic elements and through this combine both a vertical and a horisontal listening.
The great distances in the orchestral use of the sound creates an alternation between the poetic and the chamber musical expressions and the many and drastic discharges in the orchestral tutti, where the metallic sides of the music are exposed.
Fast alternations between these extremities give the music its character of conflict and drama.
MAGMA has been written on commission by Amsterdam Concertgebouworkest for its 100 years anniversary in 1988.

Arne Nordheim

  • Ensemble
    Oslo Philharmonic Orhestra and others
    Truls Mørk and others
  • Ensemble
    Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Yoav Talmi
    Truls Mørk
  • 14 OCT 2006
    Ultima 2006
    Lindemansalen, NMH*S Symfoniorkester
    NMH's Symfoniorkester
    Hannah Weber; Håkon Daniel Nystedt, conductor
  • 12 OCT 2006
    Norges Musikkhøhskole, Oslo, Norway

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.