Repertoire Search

Anders Nordentoft

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

The Nervous Saurian (1988)
Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
9 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s) Score and Part(s)

Programme Note
Anders Nordentoft The Nervous Saurian (1988)

The Nervous Saurian (1989-92) is a 3-parted composition in one movement, for clarinet, cello and piano. The title as well as the music refers to 'Øglernes Frise' (The Frieze of the Reptiles), a /science fiction) novel by DAnish author Bo Green Jensen, beautifully illustrated by Knud Steffen Jensen.

It is the story of a (dream-)travel back to the Land of the Lizards, to the Archean, the accession, the afternoon, the death and the inheritance of the reptiles. Here however, in the climax of the reptiles the conception of time changes: thousands of years - mankind - pass like seconds. Even the most violent pain connected with birth and death, the rush of fear and joy, the swiftness of reflective actions and most dramatic changes are caught and disappear in a slow blurred time - although the experience is paradoxically near.

And the main character of the story, the eccentric Dr. Green states: "There will be a time, when the desires of Man can be fulfilled only in the Land of the Lizards"

Anders Nordentoft

  • Ensemble
    The Capricorn Ensemble
    Lionel Friend
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.