Repertoire Search

Jouni Kaipainen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Sisyfos Drømmer (1994), 47
Wilhelm Hansen
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Jouni Kaipainen Sisyfos Drømmer (1994), 47

In 1994, after having in a few months time completed my second Symphony, fourth String Quartet and my Oboe Concerto, I felt quite funny and exhausted. Since there still was one orchestral piece to be done, I did not really feel like being able to get to it - before I for the first time in my life came to the idea of writing an autobiographical piece. I hope it is understandable that my alter ego here is Sisyphus of the ancient Greek legends, i.e. the man who had cheated gods and therefore had to push a big stone up a hill endlessly.

All this is in my composition: The irritatingly slow upward movement, the fast downward slide as the rock rolls down again and poor Sisyphus has to start all over again.
But all of us do have dreams, even Sisyphus (he was never able to sleep, but there is still the possibility of day-dreams).

In my piece, these moments of dreams come from sketches for the compositions named above. They work as illusory rests in Sisyphus’ eternal labour. What did he dream of? Maybe of a soft, green green grass to lie and sleep on ... Certainly not of rolling stones.

Jouni Kaipainen

  • Ensemble
    Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra
    Sakari Oramo
  • Ondine:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.