Repertoire Search

Arnold Schoenberg

Publisher: AMP

Vier Stücke - aus 6. Kleine Klavierstücke op. 19
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Hans Abrahamsen
8 Minutes
Programme Note
Arnold Schoenberg Vier Stücke - aus 6. Kleine Klavierstücke op. 19
The four pieces from Schoenberg's 'Sechs kline Klavierstucke op. 19' are yet another example of the way Hans Abrahamsen engages in an exploratory dialogue with the music of other composers. The four pieces - all the slow movernents from op. 19 - are arranged for a mixed chamber orchestra of soloists, of the type Schoenberg might have composed for. Thus they explore not only the tonality of the expressionistic piano pieces but also the structure of the music of a composer who was extrernely conscious of both these aspects.
Schoenberg's expressionistic piano pieces, the sixth and fast of which was written in memory of Gustav Mahler, who died in 1911, have in Abrahamsen's hands not only been made sensual but actually have a kind of floating physicality; a paradoxical and fascinating expressiveness which according to the score is to be achieved by playing the pieces as slowly as possible slower than they could be realized on the piano, in fact more or less in slow motion. The reworking of the Schoenbeng pieces is dedicated to the Schoenberg Ensemble and the conductor Rembert de Leeuw.
Thomas Michelsen, 2004

  • Soloist(s)
    Kenneth Karlsson (piano)
  • Large Ensemble (7 or more players):
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.