Repertoire Search

Hans Abrahamsen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Winternacht (1978),
Work Notes
Alternative version 1987
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
Alternate Orchestration

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Hans Abrahamsen Winternacht (1978),
Winternacht was written in 1976-78 and the title was taken from a poem by the Austrian poet Georg Trakl. The four movements, which are all very precise and dreamingly poetic, are almost classical in terms of clarity and discipline in orchestration and form: hence the dedication of the third movement to Igor Stravinsky. However, the music has a strong impressionistic quality as well: four introverted still lives of the velvety, dark iceness of a silvery winter night (one can veritably sense the fairy-tale-like sleigh ride in the two outer movements).

The second movement is dedicated to the eccentric lithographer M.C. Escher and the first and last movements are both dedicated to Georg Trakl. As in the well-known orchestral work, Stratifications, we can enjoy Abrahamsen's fascination with having several events occur simultaneously: a thoughtful as well as playful multilayered quality mirrors the poetic and mysterious worlds of painting, literature, nature and most important of all: music.

Poul Ruders

Score preview

Alternative version score preview

  • Ensemble
    London Sinfonietta
    Elgar Howarth
  • Ensemble
    London Sinfonietta
    Oliver Knussen
  • Large Ensemble (7 or more players):
  • Ensemble
    Speculum Musicae
    William Purvis
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.