Repertoire Search

Hans Abrahamsen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Symfoni (1974)
Wilhelm Hansen
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
14 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Hans Abrahamsen Symfoni (1974)
Symphony (no.1) was written in 1974, and consists of 2 movements dialectically related to each other.

1st movement: A dynamic development with a material expanding within the frames of the classical sonata form. This has not been made from a 'neo-classical' point af view but from a 'concretistic'. The sonata form is applied mechanicallly - it is a strait -jacket.

2nd movement: A sound-weaving of threads from time to time converging into pastoral openings, which are thrown in relief with the born sound. The pastorals disappear in the combination of threads, echoes are heard in the subdued horns. The movement ends with a reference to the opening of the first movement.

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Orchestra of the Royal Academy of Music
    Ole Schmidt
  • 30 OCT 2014
    Timotheuskirken, Valby, Denmark
    Sankt Annæ Symfoniorkester
    Frederik Støvring Olsen, conductor
  • 04 FEB 2006
    Gävle, Sweden
    Gävle Symfoniorkester
    Luke Dollman, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.