Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Waves (1969)
Wilhelm Hansen
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
15 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Waves (1969)
“Waves” is a study in drifting pulses and overlapping accents. A rather stabile repeated four note pattern (or sound or tone pattern, depending on the instrument used during the work) is played with different, slowly overlapping accents.

The technique expands ideas from my piano pieces Grooving (1968) and is further developed in works like “Arcana”, “Turn”, “Spell” and more. One may call it minimalistic, but I should rather call it an expansion or deeper concentration on the interferential phenomenon that I have inspired me since my first compositions, here for instance in the form of two rubber balls hopping on a large drum...Perhaps minimalistic, for sure interferential!

Per Nørgård

  • Ensemble
    Scandinavian Wind Quintet
  • Soloist(s)
    Gert Sørensen (perc)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.