Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Strygekvartet nr. 7 (1993)
Work Notes
Revideret 1994
Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
16 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Strygekvartet nr. 7 (1993)

The spectrum of sound, the gesticulation – in short, the very nature of the strings – has always had a central place in my output, demonstrated by the numbers of string quartets, concertos with string soloist, chamber and solo works. The interest dates back to my school years, when I was fortunate to be able to compose for a cello-playing schoolmate and to accompany him on the piano. I discovered then the innumerable nuances of sound and playing varieties offered by just one bow, four strings and five fingers..

My STRING QUARTET NO. 7 was composed for the celebration of the Danish Royal Library´s 200 years as a public library, and at this occasion introduced to a number of invited people in the historical Round Tower in Copenhagen 1993. After a thorough revision of the first movement, the work was world premiered to the public in Tivoli in 1994 by the Kontra Quartet.

The first movement is based on a still returning melody which is richly varied, while the third movement waves in a flexibel dans rhythm. The end of the movements tend towards a joint swirling texture. In between, a silent double-world exists, where simple lyrical-expressive motifs alternate between two quarter tones related harmony layers.
String Quartet no. 7 is dedicated the Kroger Quartet.

Per Nørgård 1998

Note: The introduction (The spectrum of sound...five fingers) to be used ad libitum.

  • Ensemble
    Kroger Kvartetten
    Alexander Øllgaard (violin), Maj Kullberg (violin), Sanna Ripatti (viola), Jakob Kullberg (cello)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.