Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Præludium og myrefuga (1982)
Work Notes
Komponisten ønsker ikke værket opført (2009)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Præludium og myrefuga (1982)

The work was commsioned by Nieuve Ensemble (New Ensemble)in Holland and was premiered in december 82 in Amsterdam. As the title suggests the work refers to the baroque genre prelude and fugue, but seen through the century consciousness: The prelude is based - bar for bar - on the famous Bach-prelude in C major from the Well Temperated Piano I, which is reflected as in a prism where the 5 inherent parts are magnified or transposed to other octaves, or its basic rhythm of 8:5:3 is widered to bigger stretches (or reduced to smaller), keeping its golden section - proportion.

The Crab Canon as well as the fugue is inspired by Escher, the Dutch artist creating the Illusionary Realism (with wrong but convincing perspectives etc.), in the way that a real fugue never is undertaken, but a rush of parts is always interlocking - and in a big hurry. After a slower cadenza-like section the work closes with a combinatioin of the Bach-prelude-ending and the Fugue theme.

Per Nørgård

Score preview

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.