Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Metamorfosi (1953), 4
Work Notes
Tilegnet Meta Holmboe
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Sub Category
String Orchestra
Year Composed
11 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Metamorfosi (1953), 4
(The Introduction - “The spectrum………five fingers..” to be used ad lib):
The spectrum of sound, the gesticulation – in short, the very nature of the strings – has always had a central place in my output, demonstrated by the numbers of string quartets, concertos with string soloist, chamber and solo works. The interest dates back to my school years, when I was fortunate to be able to compose for a cello-playing schoolmate and to accompy him on the piano. I discovered then the innumerable nuances of sound and playing varieties offered by just one bow, four strings and five fingers.
"Metamorfosis" deals with just one metamorfosis, slowly changing the introductory motifs, instead of a set of variation-like, minor movements (As is the case for example with Hindemith´s “Symphonic Metamorphoses on a Theme by Weber”): the thematic ´core´ consists of an energetic, upward-striving figue (a minor second, a fifth, a minor second, a major second..), a motif that is varied in different ways, not unlike the classical sonata´s development section, leading always to more intensified culminations of dynamics, speed and density. The last climax, though, is followed by a strongly contrasting section of peaceful simplicity – seemingly a second movement directly connected to the former one, but in reality consisting of the original slowly modified motifs now suggesting a radically changed unity, a new atmosphere. A metamorphosis is completed..

Per Nørgård (1999)

  • Ensemble
    Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra
    Juha Kangas
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.