Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Adagio di preludio (1951)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Sub Category
String Orchestra
Year Composed
4 Minutes
Programme Note
Per Nørgård Adagio di preludio (1951)
ADAGIO for strings (1950-51)

The spectrum of sound, the gesticulation – in short, the very nature of the strings – has always had a central place in my output, demonstrated by the numbers of string quartets, concertos with string soloist, chamber and solo works. The interest dates back to my school years, when I was fortunate to be able to compose for a cello-playing schoolmate and to accompany him on the piano. I discovered then the innumerable nuances of sound and playing varieties offered by just one bow, four strings and five fingers..
"Adagio" (1950-51) is my earliest work for strings. A soft melodic line, in double-octave spacing, unfolds itself in a growing dynamic intensity until it is split up in several lines; at the conclusion, it is unified again in the original instrumental setting.
This piece was originally the middle movement of my “Preludio for string orchestra”. Because I comprehensively rejected my output dating from before my opus 1 (from 1953), it was not until Christoph Schüren asked me to take another look at the “Preludio” that I realized that the second movement, "Adagio", was fully in line with my later works.
For this initiative, I gratefully dedicated the ´survivor´ to Christoph Schlüren.

Per Nørgård (1999)

Note: The beginning of the programme note (from “The spectrum…” to “ …five fingers.” to be used ad lib..

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra
    Juha Kangas
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.