Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Klaverkoncert nr. 1 - In due Tempi (1995)
Work Notes
Bestilling: Léonie Sonnings Musikfond Tilegnelse: Per Salo
Wilhelm Hansen
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
30 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score
   Solo Part

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Klaverkoncert nr. 1 - In due Tempi (1995)

'Concerto in due Tempi' was composed 1994-95 and dedicated to Per Salo, the pianist who also gave the world premiere on May 5, 1996 with the Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Leif Segerstam.
The work has a duration of appr. 30 minutes. It unfolds itself as an uninterrupted interplay between the piano and the orchestral instruments, often in soloistic or chamber music combinations. An alto saxophone separates itself from the rest of the instruments, but contributes in a dramatic way to the ensemble playing, as a kind of ‘anti-soloist’. ‘Due tempi’ does not refer to the number of movements, of which there is only one. This movement, however, invites a three-part interpretation (downwards, solo cadenza in the bass register, upwards!).
The ‘two tempi’ in fact exist simultaneously and are in the ratio 7:5 (approximately the square root of two).

Per Nørgård

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Danish National Symphony Orchestra
    Per Salo (piano)
    Leif Segerstam
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.