Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Brænding (Surf) (1992)
Work Notes
version 1992
Wilhelm Hansen
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
Hans Abrahamsen
5 Minutes
Programme Note
Per Nørgård Brænding (Surf) (1992)
The original version of SURF (in Danish "Brænding") for small ensemble is from 1983. In 1992, for a ”Nørgård 60 years” concert, the composer Hans Abrahamsen made a new version – for sinfonietta.

Nørgård writes about the composition:

SURF is a short piece, 5-6 minutes, commissioned by the Danish newspaper Berlingske Tidende in 1983 for the final concert in their yearly Chamber Music Contest (for teenagers). The ensemble then – consisting of the finalists - was two flutes, clarinets, horn, piano and accordion).

Together with my work for sinfonietta “Prelude to Breaking” the present “Surf” is the nearest I have come to tone painting in music, here the raising and falling of waves – their roars and final dissolution into silence.

Per Nørgård (1992)

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Aarhus Sinfonietta
    Søren K. Hansen
  • Ensemble
    BIT20 Ensemble
    Ilan Volkov
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.