Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Helle Nacht - Violinkoncert nr. 1 (1987)
Work Notes
En “Kammerversion” – for violin solo og sinfonietta - er arrangeret af Steve Ferre i 2002, og uropførtes af violinisten Peter Herresthal.
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
24 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Alternate Orchestration
1(pic).1(ca).2(ebcl.bcl).1(cbn)/ (
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Helle Nacht - Violinkoncert nr. 1 (1987)
This is my third work for solo string instrument and orchestra, the other two being "Between" for cello and "Remembering Child" for viola.

The title "Light Night" refers to the caracteristics of each of the four movements.

The "light" translucent quality of the melody, sound and rhythm, woven into a fine filigree; the Night revealed in the multi-layered possibilities of interpretation, like/constantly/changing the aspect of a turning prism, with each performing appearing differntly to the listeners. Of course this is more or less the case with every musical work but in HELLE NACHT the ambiguity is made innermost principle.

The first and last movements form a symphonic frame for the inner two more static interludes though even in these light is constantly breaking through.

I wrote the concerto during 1986-87 at the request of Anton Kontra.

Per Nørgård

Note: The following text might by added, when relevant:
The “chamber version” - for violin solo og sinfonietta - was arrangered by Steve Ferre in 2002, and premiered by the violinist Peter Herresthal.

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Copenhagen Philharmonic Orchestra
    Anton Kontra (violin)
    Okko Kamu
  • Ensemble
    Danish Radio Radio Symphony Orchestra
    Christina Åstrand
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.